对谈: “希望的工具” Akira the Hustler

 
  • Akira the Hustler ©孝三岛, 大田秀则画廊提供
  • Akira the Hustler 1969年生于东京,目前也生活工作于东京。他于2004年发起了”共同生活项目”,以提高大众对HIV感染者社群和其他少数群体的认识。在本次上海大田秀则画廊群展“走的人多了...”中,Akira the Hustler带来了一幅大型丙烯作品和一件粘土雕塑。借此次展览的机会,我们与Akira the Hustler以线上对谈的方式聊了聊他的创作与经历。

    更多展览信息请点击此处访问画廊网站。

  • Akira the Hustler: 艺术家采访

    O:大田秀则画廊 | A:Akira the Hustler
  • O:你是从什么时候开始艺术创作的?有什么背景故事可以分享吗?

    A:学生时代我已经有在创作作品,当时常去玩的酒吧有一个对我很好的前辈,他是艺术家也是变装皇后,当时HIV还被认为是“不治之症”,他向大家宣布自己感染AIDS,同时以生命与死亡、性取向与社会的问题为作品主题很积极地在做创作。他的身影让我受到不小的冲击。那几年我暂停了创作,转而将自己的重心倾向社会运动。艺术真的能让世界变得更美好吗?那时候的心境就好像在这个疑问中迷失了方向。 

     我再一次做好准备面对艺术应该是在二十世纪最后的一年。大田秀则画廊曾经开在东京惠比寿颇有风情的旧楼里,三个从事性工作的艺术家将记录了自己生活、性、人际关系的日记用大头针钉在白墙上,做了一个很单纯的装置作品展览。自己的故事,我不说也不会有人代替我去说,我没有办法认为自己被当作不存在也无所谓。大概我对世界至少还有那么些执着。

  • Akira the Hustler在工作室创作中 © Akira the Hustler,大田秀则画廊提供
  • O:可以和我们分享一下你从得到灵感到完成一件作品的创作过程是怎样的吗?

    A:当我有了作品灵感之后,就因为放了一放把它给忘了,那种失望我不想再反复尝了,所以哪怕是睡到一半我也会蹦起来去记录,或者画成素描。

     实际上,到那些素描最终成为作品,很多时候我会静置一段时间,一个月,长的时候可能好几年。会有一个瞬间,能让我突然相信它们有需要以某种形态出现在现实里的必然性。

     

    O: 你的很多作品一定程度上表达了对特定社会现象的回应,你认为艺术在多大程度可以影响社会,如何影响?是什么促使你创作出反映这些社会问题的艺术品?

    A:我想狭义上的艺术、美术,如果作为影响社会或是参与解决社会问题的“道具”来看,或许是成效最“慢”的,但是那种延迟很有意思。相较之下,音乐和电影鼓舞人们的收效要快得多。我有时也感到羡慕,但艺术可以通过和其他领域合作的形式来广泛发挥作用。并且说实话,我感觉不论是音乐,还是投影在荧幕上的光,又或者是飞散在画布上的颜料,那只是形式的问题。花费时间的延迟性艺术有其自身的魔力,我想要相信狭义上的艺术有这种力量。

     我并不是有意识地在创作反映社会问题的作品,但想象自己如果一点没有困扰,人生满足充盈,可能我不会想要创作。就此而言,愤怒和悲伤或许是作品的源泉。

  • Akira the Hustler, Cloud Man (each/together), 2017-2019, FRP, acrylic, wood, steel, 240 x 239 x 71 cm © Akira the...

    Akira the Hustler, Cloud Man (each/together), 2017-2019, FRP, acrylic, wood, steel, 240 x 239 x 71 cm

    © Akira the Hustler, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts

  • O:在你的作品中,有一些头部被云或动物头替代的人物形象,请问这是有什么象征意义吗?

    A:我很喜欢看天上小簇的云,分分合合,形状大小都在变化的样子,有时觉得它们就像人群。

     我和人说起过,街上一大群人或是参加社会运动的人穿过城市,他们看起来就好像云一样。就算在他们之中有知名的人,也没有很大关系,那里只存在着某种意志。人群达成目的后,大家就解散回到各自的居所,我觉得那个场面很美。

  • 展览现场: '日常生活', 2012, 东京大田秀则画廊, 大田秀则画廊提供 展览现场: '日常生活', 2012, 东京大田秀则画廊, 大田秀则画廊提供
    展览现场: "日常生活", 2012, 东京大田秀则画廊, 大田秀则画廊提供
  • O:作为一名艺术家,在当前的新冠疫情下是否有想要和大家分享的想法呢?

    A:我记得在思考HIV预防的时候,以防护措施为首的各种“safer(更加安全的)的概念让我深受触动。如果追求完全的安全,那么性生活也就不成立。我在这种创造性中感受到了巨大的人性。

    在思考新冠的时候,若是期许完全的安全,我总会想象自己受困于阴暗的房间,这使我情绪消沉。在当今传染病的恐慌下,可以探讨“更加安全的”求生之道的发明;以及,如果有什么是我们突破规则限制和默许的条约也要去实现的,这样东西是什么呢?近来这几个月里,我一直在思考这两个问题。

  • 艺术家作品

    • Akira the Hustler Islands (And People) in an Ocean Current, 2020 Monotype print, oil pastel, oil on paper 72.5 x 84.2 cm
      Akira the Hustler
      Islands (And People) in an Ocean Current, 2020
      Monotype print, oil pastel, oil on paper
      72.5 x 84.2 cm
    • Akira The Hustler Bonfire, 2019 Woodblock print on paper 84.6 x 84.6 cm (Paper) / 110.5 x 110.5 cm (Framed) 1/3 + 1 A.P.
      Akira The Hustler
      Bonfire, 2019
      Woodblock print on paper
      84.6 x 84.6 cm (Paper) / 110.5 x 110.5 cm (Framed)
      1/3 + 1 A.P.
    • Akira the Hustler Individualists, 2020 wood, stone modeling clay, acrylic gouache Dimension variable
      Akira the Hustler
      Individualists, 2020
      wood, stone modeling clay, acrylic gouache
      Dimension variable

  • 关于艺术家

    Akira the Hustler(生于1969)是一名视觉艺术家,他的作品形式从表演艺术涉猎至雕塑。当他进行绘画实践时,他呈现了各种形式的作品,并常尝试像寻常一般描绘变化或非凡。他的近期展览包括“欢迎来到游行”,大田秀则画廊,东京(2019),“街头正义:艺术,声音和能量”,Galaxy -Gingakei,东京(2018),“2017重生艺术节”,石卷(2017),“爱的身体:艾滋年代的艺术”,东京都写真美术馆,东京(2010)。公共馆藏包括法国兰伯特收藏馆和日本Watari当代艺术博物馆。

Interview: Akira the Hustler

 
  • Akira the Hustler © Takayuki Mishima Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts
  • Born in Tokyo in 1969, Akira the Hustler currently lives and works in the same city. In 2004, he launched the "Living Together Project" to bring awareness to the HIV affected community and other minority groups. In Ota Fine Arts Shanghai's exhibition "When many pass one way…", Akira the Hustler presents a large-scale painting and a clay sculpture. Through the exhibition, we join Akira in a conversation about his creative process and experience.

     

    To find out more about the exhibition ‘When many pass one way…’, click here.

  • Akira the Hustler: Artist Interview

    O:OTA FINE ARTS | A:AKIRA THE HUSTLER
  • O:When did you start creating artworks? Is there a background story you would like to share? 

    A:I was already producing artworks while I was a student. However, I encountered a senior artist who was a drag queen and whom I became close to, at a club party that I frequented. He vigorously worked on the themes concerning life and death, sexual orientations and society in his creations while publicly announcing that he was HIV positive. HIV was known as a ‘life threatening disease’ at that time. I was extremely shocked from his activities and distanced myself from art-making to focus on social activities. I felt lost while thinking if art could be the way to make this world better.

     

    A: I think it was in the last year of the 20th century that I thought about facing art again. There was an exhibition at Ota Fine Arts, when the gallery was still in an old and quaint building in Ebisu. The exhibition was by three artists, who were also sex workers, writing a diary about their lives, sex and human relations. It was a simple installation work where they pinned those diaries on a white wall. It is not like someone will talk about my stories on behalf of me while I was being silent,  I could not accept the fact that my stories were being neglected. To that extent, I thought I was somehow attached to the world.

  • Akira the Hustler in the studio © Akira the Hustler, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts
  • O:Would you like to share your creative process from getting inspired to completing a work?

    A: When I get the inspiration for an artwork, I do not want to re-experience the same disappointment that I felt when I had forgot about it because I had left it until the next moment. Hence, even if I am sleeping, I jump up and take a note or make a sketch. 

    In many cases, it takes a while for these sketches to become a complete artwork — normally a month to a maximum of a few years. There is a moment when I am able to suddenly believe in the necessity that it should form a shape and appear in reality.

     

    O:Many of your artworks are in part a response to specific social phenomena. To what extent do you think art can influence society, and how? What motivated you to create artworks which reflect these social issues? 

    A:I think that Art in a narrow sense are the‘slowest tools’ that have an impact on society and can contribute to solving social problems, but this slowness is interesting. I think music and movies have the effect of inspiring people much faster. Sometimes I envy that, but I think art can play its role in a broad sense in the form of collaboration with other fields. To be honest, I feel that it is just a matter of form, whether it takes the form of music, the form of light projected on the screen, or paint scattered on the canvas. I want to believe that art has the unique magical power with its slow-acting art form. 

    I am not so conscious about making works that reflect social issues, but if I were to imagine myself living a fulfilling life with no problems, I may not be able to make an artwork. In that sense, anger and sadness may be the source of the work.

  • Akira the Hustler, Cloud Man (each/together), 2017-2019, FRP, acrylic, wood, steel, 240 x 239 x 71 cm © Akira the...

    Akira the Hustler, Cloud Man (each/together), 2017-2019, FRP, acrylic, wood, steel, 240 x 239 x 71 cm

    © Akira the Hustler, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts

  • O:In your artwork, there are some human figures with heads replaced by clouds or animal heads. Is there any symbolic meaning?

    A:I really like watching small clouds break apart, overlap and stick together to change shape and size. Sometimes, it seems like a crowd too. 

    I have once shared that I saw large crowds of people and parades going through the city and they looked like clouds. Even if there was a well-known person marching, it did not matter so much and only the intention exists. The crowd dismissed and went back to their homes when they have reached the goal, I found that scene beautiful.

  • Installation view: 'Ordinary Life', 2012, Ota Fine Arts Tokyo, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts Installation view: 'Ordinary Life', 2012, Ota Fine Arts Tokyo, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts
    Installation view: "Ordinary Life", 2012, Ota Fine Arts Tokyo, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts

     

  • O:As an artist, do you have any thoughts you would like to share under COVID-19?

    A:I remember the time when people were thinking about HIV prevention, I was very impressed by the concept of ‘safer’, for example the use of protection. Intercourse is impossible if you want to be perfectly ‘safe’. I felt a great humanity in the creativity demonstrated then. 

    When I think about COVID-19 and should I try to seek perfect safety, I imagine myself trapped in a dark room and this makes me feel gloomy. I think the invention of a ‘safer’ way of living can be considered under today’s pandemic. And if there is something that we want to fulfill, even if one was to break the rules and arrangements, what would it be? I have spent the last few months exploring these two themes.

  • Artworks

    • Akira the Hustler Islands (And People) in an Ocean Current, 2020 Monotype print, oil pastel, oil on paper 72.5 x 84.2 cm
      Akira the Hustler
      Islands (And People) in an Ocean Current, 2020
      Monotype print, oil pastel, oil on paper
      72.5 x 84.2 cm
    • Akira The Hustler Bonfire, 2019 Woodblock print on paper 84.6 x 84.6 cm (Paper) / 110.5 x 110.5 cm (Framed) 1/3 + 1 A.P.
      Akira The Hustler
      Bonfire, 2019
      Woodblock print on paper
      84.6 x 84.6 cm (Paper) / 110.5 x 110.5 cm (Framed)
      1/3 + 1 A.P.
    • Akira the Hustler Individualists, 2020 wood, stone modeling clay, acrylic gouache Dimension variable
      Akira the Hustler
      Individualists, 2020
      wood, stone modeling clay, acrylic gouache
      Dimension variable

  • About the Artist

    Akira the Hustler (b. 1969, Tokyo, Japan) is a visual artist whose work ranges from performance art to sculptures. While he is trained in painting, his works also take on a myriad of forms that often attempt to depict the alternative or the extraordinary as norm and ordinary. His recent exhibitions include “Welcome to the parade”, Ota Fine Arts, Tokyo (2019), “STREET JUSTICE: Art, Sound and Power”, Galaxy - Gingakei, Tokyo (2018), “Reborn Art Festival 2017”, Ishinomaki (2017) and "Love’s Body-art in the age of AIDS", Tokyo metropolitan museum of Photography, Tokyo (2010). His works are in public collections including Collection Lambert, France and The Watari Museum of Contemporary Art, Japan.