对谈:泽拓

 
  • Hiraki Sawa, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts
  • 泽拓携新作影像作品及同系列线描,在大田秀则画廊东京空间举办个展“/home”,展期至4月3日,在大田秀则画廊上海空间参与群展“泽拓和SHINCHIKA”,展期至4月30日。借展览之际,我们与泽拓谈了谈《/home》系列的创作背景。 

    关于展览“/home”,请点击此处

    关于展览“泽拓和SHINCHIKA”,请点击此处

  • 泽拓:艺术家采访

  • ― 你创作《/home》的动机是什么呢。

    在2002年制作了处女作《dwelling》后,我几次尝试创作飞机在室内飞行的作品,但都很难达到自己满意的程度,这样的状况持续了一段时间。就在那个时期,2017年家人不得不搬离我从小长大的房子,我想把家里的样子用影像记录下来,所以拍摄了室内的录像。从《dwelling》算起,到在大约过去了20年,我想在自己的家中再重演一次2002年在敦房中制作的机,那是最初的契机。我一直心系着童年的记忆,和大约20年前创作的作品中登场的飞机这一主题,摸索着如何将这些念想赋之以形而创作的,就是这次发表的作品《/home》。它和《dwelling》并不完全相同,我唤起家中结构的记忆,在空中描绘飞机的轨迹,就好像用航路来描摹空间似的创作了这件作品。

     

    ― 你在创作时是处于沉浸在回忆里的状态吗?又或者是处于兴奋的状态呢?

    在创作中让我状态兴奋,基本上是当我回想起童年一边想象一边玩玩具的状态的时候,这种时候,可以忘记时间来创作了。人们常夸赞5岁左右的孩子的画,我想在我做作品的时候,如何让我的想象力或者说对于作品的意识处于孩子那样的状态是很重要的。当我看到女儿小时候的画作时,我会惊讶于她的用色和构图,是现在的我画不出来的。20年来我一直在做作品,每当我的思维方式接近孩子玩游戏时候的感觉时,我就开心起来。

     

  • ― 谈谈的新城幻想是什么的概念

    对我来说住在新城、住宅开发区曾是很自然的。在我经历失去自己从小长大的家之前,我对房子、家庭社会的看法是固定的,我也觉得失去自己的家是让人难过的,并有一些寂寞的。但是,从历史角度来看,我长大的家,还有它所在的住宅区都是原本不存在。开发区住宅是非常近代式的幻想,是最近的人们构想出来的。我有一个总是在谈论祭典的朋友,他所谈的那个祭典据说有1500年左右的历史。相比起来,我小时候参加过的社区祭典大概还没有100年。也就是说,他所说的祭典和我观念里的祭典是不一样的。那就像是,我以为是这样的认知开始崩塌了的感受,住宅开发区对我来说感觉上是社会里原有的存在,但是让人口集中住在新建的楼房里这一住宅开发区至今还没有150年的历史,比较之下是新的概念。这或许也是现在主流的观点,新冠之后,当我俯瞰以前如此所以今后也会如此这样的思考,并且仔细观察它的构造,发现它实际并不是那么准确。我对这种(幻想与现实)的差异起了兴趣,所以在思考住宅开发区的构造。

    一直以来,我一直带着对时间性、场所性的意识在创作,同时也在作品中表达通过改变对事物的看法,或是改变事物呈现的样子而观测到的一个别样世界。比如说飞机在室内飞行这种表现,飞机(一般)不会在室内飞行,但是把飞机从天上转移到房间里这种错位,会让人们的视角也产生一些错位。

    对我来说住宅开发区是一个象征,它标记着我重新思考曾经以为是理所当然的一些事物,并且由于这种体验我的知觉会产生错位的可能性,这同时也跟时间的错位场所的错位有关,是引起我思考的根源。

     

    在本次作品的系列中幻想是一个重要的关键词,薄象征多次出在你的线描里

    有一段时间,我自学摄影史,在19世纪末之后的照片历史中有一段幽灵照片的风潮。文艺复兴时期的绘画描绘天使或是上帝降临时,场面常常被虚化,仿佛从云雾中出现,而到了幽灵照片,这种表现被置换成薄薄的半透明的棉布。近期的创作中,当我想要虚化某一部分时经常让薄纱这一物件登场。我的创作方式基本上是再构成,在画面中添置薄纱也是让已经存在的某个形态通过盖上薄纱而呈现出不同的样子。这个方式和超现实主义艺术家是一样的。

     

  • ―你如何选择出现在线描中的物件?

    我并不是为了阐述某个含义而做作品。灯台和喇叭,包括飞机,日常生活中当我发现吸引我的物件时,我会先记下来放一放,在之后的创作中将它们作为再构成的素材。在说到对我影响很大的作家时我常提起安倍公房,高中的时候我曾听说,安倍公房的文章里所用的言语,都是他从家里到蔬果店去买东西再回到家里的这段路上会用到的言语。他把出门买东西的时候想到的言语记在小纸片上,然后再用这些小小的言语的碎屑来写小说。我选择作品中的物件的理由,借用安倍公房的方式来说,就是从家到蔬果店去买东西路上看到的东西。

     

    大田秀画廊当前的展中展出了影像和平面作品,有没有什么作品或是展是你今后想尝试

    当然我会继续影像作品,也想尝试动态雕塑,尝试在其他的媒介上做绘画,以及平面和立体相结合的2.5次元的作品,也想尝试用它们来构成装置作品。在大田秀则画廊东京空间的展览“/home”中,我用简介的布展方式呈现了影像和线描作品,但今后我想尝试混合几种媒介,使用与以往不同的素材,在不同的维度下呈现的装置作品。然后我想通过反观装置,写一个关于它的故事。另外,目前我也在创作今秋将在奥能登艺术节展出的作品。

  • ARTWORKS

    • Hiraki Sawa /home, 2017-21 Single channel video (stereo sound, colour) 9'24" Edition of 8 plus 2 AP
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home, 2017-21
      Single channel video (stereo sound, colour)
      9'24"
      Edition of 8 plus 2 AP
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (tower), 2021 Ink on paper, Artist's seal 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (tower), 2021
      Ink on paper, Artist's seal
      29.7 x 21 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (shopping cart), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (shopping cart), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #4), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #4), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #5), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #5), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (hands), 2021 Ink, watercolor on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (hands), 2021
      Ink, watercolor on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #6), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #6), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #2), 2021 Ink, pencil on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #2), 2021
      Ink, pencil on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (hands), 2021 Ink, pencil, watercolor on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #1), 2021 Ink, pencil on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #1), 2021
      Ink, pencil on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (salute), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (salute), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #3), 2021 Ink, pencil on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #3), 2021
      Ink, pencil on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (pine tree), 2021 Pencil on paper, Artist's seal 102 × 66 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (pine tree), 2021
      Pencil on paper, Artist's seal
      102 × 66 cm
  • 关于艺术家

    泽拓,1977年出生于石川县。2003年取得伦敦大学斯莱德美术学院雕塑艺术硕士学位。现居住伦敦。描绘大量模型飞机在房间中交错飞行的影像作品“dwelling”(2002)夺得象征年轻艺术家跃龙门的奖项East International Award,继而一举出道。初期作品多在室内展开,和出道作品类似,用黑白影像刻画不可能发生在现实中的情境和风景。近年着手于影像和展览空间相互干涉的作品创作。近年主要举办了“MEMORIA PARALELA”纳瓦拉大学博物馆,纳瓦拉(2019)、“Latent image revealed”KAAT神奈川艺术剧场,神奈川(2018)、“Under the Box, Beyond the Bounds”东京歌剧院画廊,东京(2014)等个展。参加了“Overlapping Circles : 5 Artists Collaborate with the Collection - The Museum's 30th Anniversary Exhibition”DIC川村记念美术馆,千叶(2020)、“第11届惠比寿影像节”东京都写真美术馆,东京(2019)等多个国内外群展及国际艺术节。

Interview: Hiraki Sawa

 
  • Hiraki Sawa, Courtesy of Ota Fine Arts
  • In Ota Fine Arts Tokyo’s recent exhibition “/home” (until 3rd April) and Ota Fine Arts Shanghai’s exhibition “Hiraki Sawa and SHINCHIKA” (until 30th April), Hiraki Sawa presents his latest video work “/home” together with series of drawings. In view of these recent exhibitions, we had a conversation with Sawa about his creative process and experiences.

     

    To find out more about the exhibition “/home”, click here, and for “Hiraki Sawa and SHINCHIKA”, click here.

  • Hiraki Sawa: Artist Interview

  • ― Could you tell us more about how the video work /home came about?

    After making my debut video work “dwelling” (2002) about 20 years ago, I have tried several times to make another work involving airplanes flying indoors, but had not achieved results that I was satisfied with. Meanwhile, the house where I grew up in had to be vacated in 2017, so I decided to keep a record of the house in a video. Now, about 20 years after making “dwelling”, I came back to the motif of the airplane that I made in my room in London in 2002, and juxtaposed it in the video of my childhood home. This was the first trigger. “/home” is a piece that combines my childhood memories with the airplane motif that kickstarted my career as an artist. It is not exactly the same as “dwelling”, but I created the work with a sense of tracing the space with the trajectory and route of airplanes while remembering the structure of the house. 

     

    ― During your creation, do you feel like you are immersed in your memories, or do you feel excitement?

    Fundamentally speaking, when I make an artwork and get excited, it is a similar feeling to a child playing with toys with imagination. I forget about the time and create works in these moments. It is said that children around the age of 5 are good at drawing. I find importance in how I could be like a child in terms of my imagination and my consciousness when I am expressing these through my works. It is not to imitate a child, but to be a child when creating the work. This is what I value in an expression. Looking at drawings my daughter made when she was little, it comes as a surprise that I will never be able to draw with such usage of colours and compositions. After making artworks for almost 20 years, I find it exciting when my brain works like a child playing.

  • - Could you explain more about ‘illusory new town’?

    Living in a new residential area known as a new town was natural for me. Before the experience of losing the home that I grew up in, I had fixed views about the idea of a house, a family, and the society. I thought it would be sad or a little lonely to lose our home. But from a historical point of view, neither my home, nor the new residential area exists. A new residential area is a very modern illusion, and such a system is designed by humans only recently. I have a friend who talks about a festival all the time, and that festival has been going on for about 1,500 years. In contrast to this, the neighborhood association festival that I used to go to when I was a child is probably less than a hundred years old. This means that the festival he was talking about and the festival that came to my mind are two different things. This brought about the feeling that what I had believed one thing to be, has started to collapse. I was living in a new residential area without a doubt, but it has only been less than 150 years since the structure of the new residential area, where many newcomers start to live at the same time, was created. Perhaps it is a recent trend, but since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, I have realized the thought of ‘it has been like this so it will continue to be so’ had no real certainty if you look at the structure objectively and carefully. I find this difference of illusion and reality interesting, and hence started thinking about the structure of a new residential area.

    Since long ago, I have been makings works being conscious of the concepts of time and space. But at the same time, I am expressing another world by shifting the way things seem, or how we perceive. For example, when you consider the scene of an airplane flying in a room; an airplane does not normally fly in a room. But by shifting it from the sky into the room, the point of view of a person will be slightly shifted. For me, the new residential area was a trigger to reconsider the things that I had taken for granted, and it is a symbol of shifting a viewpoint. It is related to the ideas of ‘time lag’ and ‘space lag’ which are the basis of my interest.

     

    - ‘Illusion’ seems to be an important keyword for the current exhibition, and the motif of a cloth veil often appears in the drawings as a symbol for it.

    For a while, I was self-studying photography history and came across the genre of spirit photography which dates back to the late 19th century. In the scenes of angels and gods descending from above in Renaissance paintings, the view is often blurred as if they appear from a fog or clouds. In spirit photography, a thin, transparent cotton cloth was used instead to create such effects. Recently, I often use these motifs when I want to blur one part of a thing. What I am doing is basically collage, and changing the perspective of an object that already exists. In this sense, it is really the same as what surrealists have been doing.

  • - How do you choose the motifs that appear in your drawings?

    I am not making works to express specific meanings. Instead, when I encounter a motif that might be interesting in my daily life such as a lighthouse, horn, and airplane, I save them for the time being and use them as collage materials later when making works. I often mention Kobo Abe as someone who influenced me a lot, and according to what I heard during high school, his writings only employ words that he would use during his trips from his house to the greengrocer’s and then back home. He scribbles the words that he came up with while shopping on a small piece of paper, and then unfolds these scraps of words and writes novels based on them. The reason for choosing the motifs that appear in my work is, in Abe Kobo’s terms, based on the things I saw between my house to the greengrocer’s.

     

    - Ota Fine Arts is currently exhibiting your video work and two-dimensional works. Is there anything you would like to work on or exhibit in the future?

    I would of course wish to work on more video works, but I also want to make a mobile, draw with different mediums, make 2.5-dimensional works that combine drawing and sculpture, and do an installation piece comprising of these works. Although the current exhibition “/home” at Ota Fine Arts Tokyo displays the video and drawings in a simple form, I would also like to do an installation in which I combine more media using different materials and dimensions that would be distinctive from the previous expressions. I would then like to observe the completed installation myself and write a story. Currently, I am also preparing for the Oku-Noto Triennale scheduled for this autumn.

  • ARTWORKS

    • Hiraki Sawa /home, 2017-21 Single channel video (stereo sound, colour) 9'24" Edition of 8 plus 2 AP
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home, 2017-21
      Single channel video (stereo sound, colour)
      9'24"
      Edition of 8 plus 2 AP
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (tower), 2021 Ink on paper, Artist's seal 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (tower), 2021
      Ink on paper, Artist's seal
      29.7 x 21 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (shopping cart), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (shopping cart), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #4), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #4), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #5), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #5), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (hands), 2021 Ink, watercolor on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (hands), 2021
      Ink, watercolor on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #6), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #6), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #2), 2021 Ink, pencil on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #2), 2021
      Ink, pencil on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (hands), 2021 Ink, pencil, watercolor on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #1), 2021 Ink, pencil on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #1), 2021
      Ink, pencil on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (salute), 2021 Ink on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (salute), 2021
      Ink on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (new town #3), 2021 Ink, pencil on paper 33.5 x 24.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (new town #3), 2021
      Ink, pencil on paper
      33.5 x 24.5 cm
    • Hiraki Sawa /home (pine tree), 2021 Pencil on paper, Artist's seal 102 × 66 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      /home (pine tree), 2021
      Pencil on paper, Artist's seal
      102 × 66 cm
  • About the Artist

    [Hiraki Sawa]  Born in Ishikawa, Japan in 1977, Hiraki Sawa is currently based in London. In 2003, he completed MFA Sculpture program at the Slade School of Fine Art at University College London. Sawa made his debut with the East International Award, which is highly regarded as a gateway to success for young artists, with his work, dwelling (2002). The work displayed numerous model airplanes flying around in the room, while monochrome screen images projected unusual events and perspectives of reality. His recent works explore the possibilities and effects of screen images located in real-life exhibition spaces. Recent solo exhibitions include “MEMORIA PARALELA” University Museum of Navarra, Spain (2019), "Latent image revealed" KAAT Kanagawa Arts Theatre, Kanagawa, Japan (2018), "Under the Box, Beyond the Bounds" Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, Tokyo, Japan (2014). He also participated in many major group exhibitions and international art festivals such as “Overlapping Circles: 5 Artists Collaborate with the Collection” Kawamura Memorial DIC Museum of Art, Chiba, Japan (2020), “Culture City of East Asia 2018 Kanazawa - Altering Home” 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan (2018), "12e Biennale de Lyon: Entre-temps... brusquement, et ensuite" Lyon, France (2013).