陈维 + 泽拓

19 AUG - 9 SEP 2020
  • 记忆是人类生存的基础,同时也是艺术家创作的灵感来源。该线上展厅呈现画廊的两位艺术家,陈维和泽拓,并探讨记忆是如何激发和引导艺术创作的。尽管两位艺术家有着截然不同的创作方式,但源于记忆中的有趣故事在作品中展现。

    • Chen Wei Light of Folding Bed, 2009 Archival inkjet print 140 x 182 cm Edition 1/3 + 1A.P.
      Chen Wei
      Light of Folding Bed, 2009
      Archival inkjet print
      140 x 182 cm
      Edition 1/3 + 1A.P.
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 25, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 7 x 9 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 25, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      7 x 9 cm
      USD 2,300.- [Framed]
  • 陈维利用视觉隐喻来突出作品中的想法,“折叠床之光”(2009)诉说了他青少年时期睡在一张这样的折叠床上的记忆。有时,他无法入睡,躺在床上,许多的想法就会在脑海中浮现。他对那些夜晚和思绪的记忆是破碎的,就像玻璃碎片反射光线一样。与此同时,他在作品中表达了一种不可思议的讽刺——虽然覆盖满锐利玻璃碎片的床已经失去了舒适感和休息感,但危险的玻璃碎片闪耀着,闪烁着诱人的光芒。 陈维摄影作品中的场景通常都是精心制作的,舞台布景使用的都是缩小尺寸后的模型来搭建。他利用在对中国城市景观的观察中发现的不同图案,重新构想了其中之美,模糊了现实与虚构、景观与梦境之间的界限。

    细节图,陈维 "折叠床之光" (2009) 

    陈维利用视觉隐喻来突出作品中的想法,“折叠床之光”(2009)诉说了他青少年时期睡在一张这样的折叠床上的记忆。有时,他无法入睡,躺在床上,许多的想法就会在脑海中浮现。他对那些夜晚和思绪的记忆是破碎的,就像玻璃碎片反射光线一样。与此同时,他在作品中表达了一种不可思议的讽刺——虽然覆盖满锐利玻璃碎片的床已经失去了舒适感和休息感,但危险的玻璃碎片闪耀着,闪烁着诱人的光芒。

     

    陈维摄影作品中的场景通常都是精心制作的,舞台布景使用的都是缩小尺寸后的模型来搭建。他利用在对中国城市景观的观察中发现的不同图案,重新构想了其中之美,模糊了现实与虚构、景观与梦境之间的界限。

  • 泽拓的“IOTA”系列(2016年)以邮票的形式探索记忆和人物的表现形式,描绘的图像令人回想起怀旧的棕褐色家庭照片。 当艺术家重新审视这些记忆,并以新的方式改变或重新收集它们时,图案和形状会用白墨水小心地绘制在上面。 在泽拓最近的纸上作品 “平行记忆”(2019)中,他阐述了自己对时间的感知和记忆,这些画作是源于他的影像作品“平行记忆”(2019)的延伸,延续了他两件早期的影像作品“轮廓”(2012)和“我呢?”(2011)。这些作品的出发点是泽拓的一位朋友丧失了记忆,这使得泽拓开始探索创作叙事中记忆和意识的概念。这些画作涵盖了泽拓超现实世界中的图案:灯塔代表一个时间点,而喇叭则与径向时间有关。 泽拓在他的实践中尝试运用人的感知能力,经常创作一些分散私有和公共空间之间界线的作品,并交织日常生活中熟悉和不熟悉的事物,以创造出梦幻般的场景和动图,激发人们的想象力。

    细节图,泽拓 "IOTA 25"(2016)

    泽拓的“IOTA”系列(2016年)以邮票的形式探索记忆和人物的表现形式,描绘的图像令人回想起怀旧的棕褐色家庭照片。 当艺术家重新审视这些记忆,并以新的方式改变或重新收集它们时,图案和形状会用白墨水小心地绘制在上面。

     

    在泽拓最近的纸上作品 “平行记忆”(2019)中,他阐述了自己对时间的感知和记忆,这些画作是源于他的影像作品“平行记忆”2019)的延伸,延续了他两件早期的影像作品轮廓”(2012)和“我呢?”(2011)。这些作品的出发点是泽拓的一位朋友丧失了记忆,这使得泽拓开始探索创作叙事中记忆和意识的概念。这些画作涵盖了泽拓超现实世界中的图案:灯塔代表一个时间点,而喇叭与径向时间有关。 

     

    泽拓在他的实践中尝试运用人的感知能力,经常创作一些分散私有和公共空间之间界线的作品,并交织日常生活中熟悉和不熟悉的事物,以创造出梦幻般的场景和动图,激发人们的想象力。

     

     

  • Available works

    • Hiraki Sawa memoria paralela (light house IV), 2019 Ink, watercolor pencil on paper 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      memoria paralela (light house IV), 2019
      Ink, watercolor pencil on paper
      29.7 x 21 cm
      USD 1,600.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa memoria paralela (installation), 2019 Ink on paper 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      memoria paralela (installation), 2019
      Ink on paper
      29.7 x 21 cm
      USD 1,600.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa memoria paralela (3 horns), 2019 Ink on paper 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      memoria paralela (3 horns), 2019
      Ink on paper
      29.7 x 21 cm
      USD 1,600.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 22, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 9 x 3.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 22, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      9 x 3.5 cm
      USD 1,900.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 28, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 9 x 7 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 28, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      9 x 7 cm
      USD 2,300.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 24, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 9 x 7 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 24, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      9 x 7 cm
      USD 2,300.- [Framed]
    • Chen Wei Glass Lake, 2016 Archival inkjet print 100 x 125 cm Edition 4/6 + 2 A.P.
      Chen Wei
      Glass Lake, 2016
      Archival inkjet print
      100 x 125 cm
      Edition 4/6 + 2 A.P.
      USD 12,000.- [Framed]
    • Chen Wei Lesson of Weightlessness, 2009 Archival Inkjet Print 100 x 100 cm Edition 3/6 + 1 A.P.
      Chen Wei
      Lesson of Weightlessness, 2009
      Archival Inkjet Print
      100 x 100 cm
      Edition 3/6 + 1 A.P.
      USD 13,500.- [Framed]
    • Chen Wei The Pillar of Broken, 2015 Archival Inkjet Print 150 x 187.5 cm Edition 5/6 + 2 AP
      Chen Wei
      The Pillar of Broken, 2015
      Archival Inkjet Print
      150 x 187.5 cm
      Edition 5/6 + 2 AP
      USD 20,000.- [Framed]
  • 关于艺术家

    陈维 (生于1980,中国浙江) 目前在北京生活和工作。他的个展包括“你今晚去边”,chi K11 美术馆,广州 (2018),“The Club”,当代摄影中心, 悉尼 (2017),“陈维: 在浪里”, chi K11 美术馆,上海 (2015)。陈维同时参加过众多群展,包括“幽灵维面,电驭叛客在未来之年”,大馆当代美术馆,香港(2019),“周末夜狂热, 1960至今设计俱乐部文化”,维特拉设计博物馆,德国(2018)和“人群中的天才”,Jendela视觉艺术空间,新加坡(2017)。他的作品被新加坡美术馆(新加坡),金泽21世纪美术馆(日本),尤伦斯当代艺术中心 (北京) 、余德耀美术馆(上海) 、K11艺术基金会 (香港)、M+ Sigg收藏(香港)以及旧金山现代艺术博物馆(美国)所收藏。

     

    泽拓(生于1977年,日本石川) 现生活和工作在伦敦和日本金泽。他的个展已在维多利亚国家博物馆,墨尔本(2006),美术与考古博物馆,贝桑松(2010),资生堂画廊,东京(2012),东京歌剧院画廊,东京(2014),Parafin,英国(2016)和文森当代艺术中心,越南(2018)举办。他最近的群展包括“边界”,詹姆斯·科汉画廊(2019),“两座房子:约翰·嘉和叶甫·林洋的当代艺术收藏中的政治和历史”,ICA新加坡(2018);“内地”,Roaming Room,伦敦(2016);“穿越六本木2016——我的身体,你的声音”,森美术馆,东京(2016)。

Chen Wei + Hiraki Sawa

19 AUG - 9 SEP 2020
  • Memories are fundamental for human beings' existence, and is always a source of inspiration for artists. This viewing room features two of the gallery’s artists, Chen Wei and Hiraki Sawa, and explores how memory inspires and leads to artistic productions. While the two artists have different approaches, interesting stories which stem from memories unfold within their works. 

    • Chen Wei Light of Folding Bed, 2009 Archival inkjet print 140 x 182 cm Edition 1/3 + 1A.P.
      Chen Wei
      Light of Folding Bed, 2009
      Archival inkjet print
      140 x 182 cm
      Edition 1/3 + 1A.P.
      Sold
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 25, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 7 x 9 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 25, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      7 x 9 cm
      USD 2,300.- [Framed]
  • Chen Wei utilizes visual metaphors to highlight ideas in his work. Light of Folding Bed (2009) narrates his memory whereby...

    Details from Chen Wei, Light of Folding Bed (2009)

    Chen Wei utilizes visual metaphors to highlight ideas in his work. Light of Folding Bed (2009) narrates his memory whereby he used to sleep on similar folding beds during his youth. At times when he had trouble falling asleep, many thoughts would cross his mind while lying in bed. His memory of those nights and thoughts are fragmented, like the broken glass that reflect rays of light. At the same time, he presents an uncanny irony here – while the bed covered in sharp shards of glass has lost its association with ideas of comfort and rest, the precarious glass fragments glisten enticingly.

     

    The scenes in Chen’s photography works are often staged sets that are carefully handcrafted scaled-down models. He utilizes different motifs found from his observation of urban landscapes in China and reimagines the beauty within them, blurring the boundaries between reality and fiction, landscapes and dreamscapes. 

  • Hiraki Sawa’s IOTA series (2016) explores the representation of memories and figures, in the form of postal stamps with images...

    Details from Hiraki Sawa, IOTA 25 (2016) 

    Hiraki Sawa’s IOTA series (2016) explores the representation of memories and figures, in the form of postal stamps with images of found family photographs taken from albums belonging to his grandmother. Patterns and shapes are carefully drawn on top with white ink, as the artist reimagines time and memory, reworking an imagined past

     

    In his most recent works on paper from the Memoria Paralela (2019) series, Sawa illustrates his perception of time and memory. The drawings are an extension of his video piece, Memoria Paralela (2019), which continues from two earlier video works, lineament (2012) and did i? (2011). The starting point for these works was a friend's loss of memory, which led Sawa to explore concepts of memory and consciousness in the narratives that he created. The drawings feature motifs from Sawa’s surreal world: the lighthouse represents a point in time, while the trumpet relates to radial time.

     

    Sawa experiments with the human perception in his practice, often creating works that diffuse the lines between domestic and public spaces, interweaving the familiar and unfamiliar of the everyday to create dream-like scenescapes and moving images that begets one’s imagination. 

     

  • Available works

    • Hiraki Sawa memoria paralela (light house IV), 2019 Ink, watercolor pencil on paper 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      memoria paralela (light house IV), 2019
      Ink, watercolor pencil on paper
      29.7 x 21 cm
      USD 1,600.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa memoria paralela (installation), 2019 Ink on paper 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      memoria paralela (installation), 2019
      Ink on paper
      29.7 x 21 cm
      USD 1,600.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa memoria paralela (3 horns), 2019 Ink on paper 29.7 x 21 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      memoria paralela (3 horns), 2019
      Ink on paper
      29.7 x 21 cm
      USD 1,600.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 22, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 9 x 3.5 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 22, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      9 x 3.5 cm
      USD 1,900.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 28, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 9 x 7 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 28, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      9 x 7 cm
      USD 2,300.- [Framed]
    • Hiraki Sawa IOTA 24, 2016 White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper 9 x 7 cm
      Hiraki Sawa
      IOTA 24, 2016
      White ink pen drawing, Giclée print on Hahnemühle archival paper
      9 x 7 cm
      USD 2,300.- [Framed]
    • Chen Wei Glass Lake, 2016 Archival inkjet print 100 x 125 cm Edition 4/6 + 2 A.P.
      Chen Wei
      Glass Lake, 2016
      Archival inkjet print
      100 x 125 cm
      Edition 4/6 + 2 A.P.
      USD 12,000.- [Framed]
    • Chen Wei Lesson of Weightlessness, 2009 Archival Inkjet Print 100 x 100 cm Edition 3/6 + 1 A.P.
      Chen Wei
      Lesson of Weightlessness, 2009
      Archival Inkjet Print
      100 x 100 cm
      Edition 3/6 + 1 A.P.
      USD 13,500.- [Framed]
    • Chen Wei The Pillar of Broken, 2015 Archival Inkjet Print 150 x 187.5 cm Edition 5/6 + 2 AP
      Chen Wei
      The Pillar of Broken, 2015
      Archival Inkjet Print
      150 x 187.5 cm
      Edition 5/6 + 2 AP
      USD 20,000.- [Framed]
  • About the artists

    Chen Wei (b. 1980, Zhejiang, China) currently lives and works in Beijing. Selected solo exhibitions include “Where Are You Going Tonight”, chi K11 art space, Guangzhou (2018), “The Club”, Centre for Contemporary Photography, Melbourne (2017), “Chen Wei: In the Waves”, chi K11 art museum, Shanghai (2015). Chen also participated in numerous group exhibitions such as “Phantom Plane, Cyberpunk in the Year of the Future”, Tai Kwun Contemporary, Hong Kong (2019), “Night Fever. Designing Club Culture 1960-today”, Vitra Design Museum, Germany (2018) and “The Genius of the Crowd”, Jendela Visual Arts Space, Singapore (2017). His works are in public collections including Singapore Art Museum, Singapore, 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art, Kanazawa, Japan, Ullens Center for Contemporary Art, China, Yuz Museum, China, K11 Art Foundation, Hong Kong, M+ Sigg Collection, Hong Kong, and San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, USA.

    Hiraki Sawa (b. 1977, Ishikawa, Japan) currently lives and work in London and Kanazawa. His solo exhibitions have been held at the Vincom Center for Contemporary Art, Vietnam(2018), Parafin, UK(2016), Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, Tokyo (2014), Shiseido Gallery, Tokyo (2012), la Musée des Beaux-Arts et d'Archeologie, Besançon (2010), National Museum of Victoria, Melbourne (2006). His recent group exhibitions include “Borders”, James Cohan gallery (2019),“Two Houses: Politics and histories in the contemporary art collections of John Chia and Yeap Lam Yang” ICA Singapore (2018), “Hinterland”, Roaming Room, London (2016) and “Roppongi Crossing 2016 – My Body, Your Voice”, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2016).